Search This Blog

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Senator Wes Hayes to Hold Town Hall Meeting on August 4 #rockhill

York County's Senator Wes Hayes will hold an town hall meeting on Monday, August 4, 2014 at Fewell Park, in Rock Hill, SC. The meeting will begin at 7 pm.

Click here to read his latest update.

#RHSD3 Student Evan Vail is Nationally Recognized by AkzoNobel #rockhill

AkzoNobel Recognizes Students Through Sustainability Challenge Grant Program

Tyler Huizenga (top) and Evan Vail.
Tyler Huizenga (top) and Evan Vail.
AkzoNobel has recognized two students through its 2013-2014 Sustainability Challenge Grant program.

Recipients of the Outstanding Student recognition are Tyler Huizenga, representing Northwest Iowa Community College in Sheldon, Iowa, nominated by instructor Steven Youngs; and Evan Vail, representing Applied Technology Center in Rock Hill, S.C., nominated by instructor Mark Dellinger. Huizenga and Vail were nominated by their instructors for exemplifying exceptional leadership, initiative and commitment to applying continuous improvement and sustainable business principles in their schools' collision repair shops and how they interact with the surrounding community and its environment. They led teams of students at their respective schools in developing a grant proposal.

The Sustainability Challenge Grant Outstanding Student honor includes an opportunity to participate in a three-day study trip to the DCR Systems Accident Repair Center in Mentor, Ohio. DCR utilizes the Process Centered Environment (PCE) as the basis for its operations. PCE is a continuous improvement initiative developed by AkzoNobel to help its customers transform and sustain their businesses.

“The Sustainability Challenge Grant aims to inspire and challenge those who are preparing for a career in collision repair to seek out ways to improve the way our industry works and interacts with its community and environment,” said Doug Holmberg, director of AkzoNobel A&AC Vehicle Refinishes North America. “These Outstanding Students represent the future of our industry, and we are proud of their initiative to help find ways to improve processes and advance environmentally-friendly practices.”

The Sustainability Challenge Grant aims to jumpstart awareness and innovation about sustainable business practices and continuous improvement among collision repair students and their instructors. The grant is sponsored by AkzoNobel and administered by the Collision Repair Education Foundation.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Vining To Seek Another Term To The Rock Hill School Board #rockhill #rhsd3 #rhschoolboard

Jim Vining has announced that he will seek another term to the Rock Hill School Board. 

Vining said, "It has been my honor to have served the residents of Rock Hill School District Three and I am extremely appreciative for their strong support for our schools. I want to keep the focus on academic progress as we transition into new leadership and technology."

Vining currently serves as one of two at-large representatives to the Rock Hill School Board. He was first elected in 1998.

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Superintendent Pew on Wednesday's Straight Talk - and other Rock Hill School News #rockhill #rhsd3

Dr. Pew on Radio Talk Show Today
Dr. Kelly Pew will be on WRHI’s daily community  talk show, “Straight Talk,” today at 12:30. To hear Dr. Pew, one can listen to WRHI, 1340 on the AM dial (or 94.3 FM), or go to the WRHI website, She will also be the featured speaker on July 23 at a meeting of the Rock Hill Area Chamber of Commerce Board.
News Talk 94.3 WRHI |
News Talk 94.3 WRHI
District’s Partners to be Recognized July 30
The district’s annual community partnership luncheon to recognize outstanding volunteers, business partners and civic organizations will be held on Wednesday morning, July 30, at Events at Manchester, beginning at 11:30. Laurabree Monday and Lucas McFadden, anchors at CN2, will serve as emcees.  
School Supply Lists for Students
School supply lists are on the district’s website under the “Parent” link and “Quick Links” on the front page.
Energy Star Schools
Congratulations to Belleview, Ebenezer Avenue, Old Pointe and Rosewood elementary schools on their designation as an ENERGY STAR school.  Buildings that earn EPA’s ENERGY STAR use 35 percent less energy and generate 35 percent few greenhouse gas emissions than similar buildings across the nation. These four schools will be recognized at the August 25 business meeting of the school board.
Back-to-School Celebration
The location for the August 15 Back-to-School Celebration has been changed to South Pointe High from Rock Hill High.  
Candidates for School Board
Three seats on the Rock Hill School Board will be up for election on November 4, seats now held by Jim Vining, Ginny Moe and Jane Sharp. Filing to run for the school board will take place at the York County Voter Registration Board in York between noon of August 1 and noon of August 15. Persons interested in running must reside in School Board Districts 2 (Moe) or 4 (Sharp) or run as an at-large (Vining) candidate.

Blog Archive


Subscribe Now: Feed Icon