Search This Blog

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Julia Goodman Marshall To Be One of 5 Finalists Featured on SCETV, Sunday, April 25, 2010

“In Our Schools” Features Five Teacher ofYear Finalists

The “In Our Schools” television program for April features the five finalists for 2010-11 South Carolina Teacher of the Year honors.
The one-hour show airs from 1 to 2 p.m. Sunday, April 25 on South Carolina ETV statewide.  “In Our Schools” is a special series designed for parents, educators and community partners and produced by ITV, which is part of the State Department of Education, with ETV’s assistance.

This edition features interesting interviews with the finalists about their teaching styles, changes and challenges in public education, and what has made each of them successful in their teaching career.

The five teachers, listed alphabetically by school district, are:

●       Kelly H. Nalley,  a second –fifth-grade Spanish at Fork Shoals School, Greenville County
●       Melody Johnson, a fourth-grade teacher at Lugoff Elementary School, Kershaw County
●       Julia Goodman Marshall, a fifth-grade teacher at Oakdale Elementary School, Rock Hill School District (York Three)
●       Dr. Samantha Maddox, an English/language arts teacher at Spartanburg High School, Spartanburg School District Seven
●       Olivia “Libby” Ortmann, a six-eighth-grade at Alice Drive Middle School, Sumter School District 17

 The announcement of South Carolina’s 2010-11 Teacher of the Year will be made at the corporate-sponsored Teacher of the Year celebration Wednesday, April 28 in Columbia.  During the next school year, that teacher will participate in a one-year residency program at the Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention and Advancement (CERRA) and serve as a statewide ambassador for the profession.

 South Carolina’s new Teacher of the Year also receives a $25,000 cash award and a BMW X5 48i to use for a year.   She will also participate in Leadership South Carolina, attend Notre Dame’s prestigious three-day Excellence in Teaching Symposium and receive a SMART board.

The April 25 broadcast will be repeated April 27 and 30 from 10:30-11:27 a.m. on ETV Channel 1 for taping by schools (unlimited rights).

The 2011 winner will be announced at a banquet on Wednesday, April 28, 2010.
Rock Hill's Bryan Coburn is South Carolina's 2010 Teacher of the year.

No comments:

Blog Archive


Subscribe Now: Feed Icon