Search This Blog

Thursday, May 13, 2010

South Pointe's Bryant Bechtler To Be Recognized

For the eighth consecutive year, South Carolina’s top career and technology education students will be publically recognized during the opening session of the annual Education and Business Summit on June 27 in Greenville.  

These 2010 high school graduates have been designated as “Technology Champions” selected from a pool of nominations from high schools and career/technology centers located in the 12 areas served by the state’s Regional Education Centers.  

The honorees were chosen based on factors such as grade point average, attendance, awards and honors, leadership in school and service to the community.  Nominees must be a graduating senior in a career and
technology education completer program. 

This year’s group includes numerous academic lettermen and students who are in the top percentage of their graduating class.  Many of the Technology Champions are award-winning athletes, student government
leaders and are active in their churches and communities. 

“We’re proud to salute these young people who rank among the best and brightest career and technology students in our state,” said Dr. Bob Couch, director of the Office of Career and Technology Education.  “They represent skilled technicians in numerous occupational skill areas such as welding, carpentry, automotive collision technology,
culinary arts, commercial graphics, information technology, pre-engineering and health science.”

The 12 Technology Champions to be honored are: 

  • Bryant Mitchell Bechtler (South Pointe  High School, Applied Technology Center)  
  • Briar Thibault (Woodmont High School, Donaldson Career Center) 
  • Perrian Rivers (Ridgeland High School, Beaufort-Jasper Academy for Career Excellence) 
  • Harold Rickenbacker (Orangeburg Wilkinson High School, Orangeburg Five Technology Center)
  • Timothy Joseph Scott (Lexington High School, Lexington Technology Center)
  • Marissa S. Davis (Dillon High School, Dillon County Technology Center)
  • Craig Crawley (Crescent High School)
  • Latischer Henry (Lee Central High School, Lee County Career and Technology Center)
  • Andrea Patterson (Wando High School)
  • Michael Wayne Quarles (Ninety Six High School, G. Frank Russell Career Center)
  • Lillian Brook Owens (Landrum High School, Swofford Career Center)
  • Jessica McCrea (Hemingway High School, Hemingway Career and Technology Center) 

Technology Champions recognition is made possible through a partnership including the State Department of Education’s Office of Career and Technology Education, South Carolina Army National Guard, South Carolina
Association for Career and Technology Education and the state’s regional career specialists.

No comments:

Blog Archive


Subscribe Now: Feed Icon